Industry stars recognized at OFTEC’s new look 2014 Awards for Excellence

On 24 June 2014, installers and manufacturers were recognized for their achievements and the best talent in the oil heating industry was showcased at OFTEC’s 2014 Awards for Excellence event.

The Awards for Excellence comprises everal categories. This year it was Davis Ewins from Cornwall-based Davanna Heating Ltd who picked up the title of Boiler Installer of the year. Stephen Owen of SC Owen in Reading received the award for Servicing and Commissioning Technician of the year and the Oil Tank Installer of the Year Award was won by Lee Stafford of LWL Heating in Brighton.

OFTEC director general Jeremy Hawksley who spoke at the event, said: “This year’s Awards for Excellence proved bigger and better than ever before and the standard of entries reflects the abundance of talent we have in the industry. I would like to congratulate all our winners and the excellent contribution they have made to the oil heating market. Our industry undoubtedly faces challenges going forward but with the current competitive price of oil, which is predicted to remain low, and a revival in oil boiler sales, we remain optimistic about the future. OFTEC will continue its valuable work at all levels, from the Government to the consumer, to safeguard and progress the oil heating industry.”